



**Marine Research Award** Marine Science Outreach Award

To be awarded at the Alaska Marine Science Symposium January 19, 2015



Lifetime Achievement Award Stewardship and Sustainability Award **Ocean Youth Award** 

To be awarded at the Alaska Marine Gala February 21, 2015



To make a nomination for any of these awards please contact oceanawards@alaskasealife.org



## Nominations open through Dec. 8th

## 2015 Alaska Ocean **Leadership Awards**



The Alaska Ocean Leadership Awards were established as annual awards to encourage and give recognition to outstanding achievements related to ocean sciences, education and resource management in Alaska.

To be awarded at the Alaska Marine Science Symposium ~ January 19, 2015

\$1000 cash prize

**Marine Research** Awarded to a scientist, team of scientists or an institution that is Award acknowledged by peers to have made an original breakthrough contribution to any field of scientific knowledge about Alaska's oceans.

Sponsored by: Drs. Clarence Pautzke and Maureen McCrae

2010 Recipient: Dr. Gordon Kruse 2011 Recipient: Dr. Jeremy Mathis 2012 Recipient: Jan Straley

2013 Recipient: Drs. Katrin Ilken, Brenda Konar, Russ Hopcroft and Bodhil Bluhm 2014 Recipient: Dr.Tom Weingartner

contribution to ocean literacy via formal or informal education, media

2010 Recipient: Kenai Fjords Tours - Marine Science Explorer Program

or other communications about Alaska's marine ecosystems.

**Marine Science** Awarded to a person, team or organization that has made an outstanding

**Outreach Award** (Formerly Ocean Literacy

and Ocean Media Awards)

\$1000 cash prize Co-Sponsored by:

Alaska Ocean Observing System and University of Alaska,

Ocean Media School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences

2010 Recipient: Elizabeth Arnold

2013 Recipient: Bonita Nelson

Ocean Literacy

2011 Recipient: Marine Conservation Alliance

2011 Recipient: Elizabeth Trowbridge - CACS

2012 Recipient: Kurt Byers & Sea Grant Staff

2012 Recipient: Deborah Mercy 2013 Recipient: Thomas Litwin and Lawrence Hott

Marine Science Outreach 2014 Recipient: Laurie "Poppy" Benson

To be awarded at the Alaska Marine Gala ~ February 21, 2015

Walter I. & Ermalee Hickel's

\$1000 cash prize

Sponsored by: Governor Walter J. and Ermalee Hickel

Lifetime Achievement Awarded to an individual or institution that has made an exceptional contribution to management of Alaska's coastal and ocean resources over a period of 20 or more years.

> 2010 Recipient: Senator Ted Stevens and Dr. Vera Alexander 2011 Recipient: Dr. Clarence Pautzke 2012 Recipient: Caleb Pungowiyi 2013 Recipient: Clement V. Tillion 2014 Recipient: Stan Stephens

Sustainability Award

**Stewardship and** Awarded to an industry initiative that demonstrates the highest commitment to sustainability of ocean resources.

Sponsored by: Jason Brune

2010 Recipient: The Marine Conservation Alliance

2011 Recipient: Shell Alaska Venture

2012 Recipient: North Pacific Fishery Management Council

2013 Recipient: Holland America Line

2014 Recipient: Pollock Conservation Cooperative Research Center

Ocean Youth Award

\$500 cash prize Sponsored by: Dale Hoffman

Awarded to an individual or team of Alaskan youth ages 12-19 who has displayed a dedication to promoting the understanding and stewardship of Alaska's oceans.

2013 Recipient: Ahmaogak Sweeney

2014 Recipient: Pribilof Student Marine Research Student Team