# E Staff Tasking – Appointments

December 2023

# **Advisory Panel**

The following members of the Advisory Panel have been reappointed for three-year terms: Jim Johnson, Mellisa Johnson.

Last year, the Council revised its Advisory Panel appointment policy to allow appointment of new members to a one-year orientation term, that if subsequently extended by 2 years, would constitute a full three-year term for purposes of term limits. The following members of the Advisory Panel have had their orientation year extended to a full three-year term: Rick Laitinen, Landry Price, and Chelsae Radell. Additionally, Tiffany Andrew, Nels Evens, and Annika Saltman have been newly appointed for a one-year orientation term.

Finally, the Council has appointed Eva Burk to the Advisory Panel's Alaska Native Tribal Representative seat for a three-year term.

### AP members for 2024 will be:

Tiffany Andrew Mellisa Johnson Landry Price Tamara Briggie Chelsae Radell Julie Kavanaugh Eva Burk Rick Laitinen Brian Ritchie Nels Evens Heather Mann Annika Saltman Gretar Gudmundsson Lauren Howard Paul Wilkins Tim Heuker Patrick O'Donnell Susie Zagorski James Johnson

The Council notes that its intent for the Advisory Panel is to appoint active members who provide diverse perspectives relevant to the fishery management issues that the Council is currently undertaking or anticipating to be considered in the near future.

As such, the Council is soliciting nominations for two temporary special appointments to the Advisory Panel in recognition of the Pacific cod pot gear LAPP action being contemplated, to represent harvesters and processors for this fishery. The Council will call for nominations for these seats, with a nomination deadline in early January. The Council will meet virtually in Executive Session shortly thereafter to review the nominations and make the appointments, so that the selected new members are able to sit on the AP for the February meeting.

# **SSC**

All current members of the SSC have been reappointed for next year. Additionally, Dr. Fabio Caltabellotta has been newly appointed for 2023 as the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife alternate for Kathryn Meyer, replacing Theresa Tsou.

#### SSC members for 2024 will be:

Chris Anderson	Jason Gasper	Andrew Munro
Amy Bishop	Dana Hanselman	Chris Siddon
Curry Cunningham	Brad Harris	Ian Stewart
Martin Dorn	Michael Jepson	Patrick Sullivan
Mike Downs	Kailin Kroetz	Robert Suryan
Sherri Dressel	Kathryn Meyer (alt Fabio Caltabellota)	Alison Whitman

Robert Foy Franz Mueter

# **Plan Teams**

Dr. Lukas DeFilippo has been appointed to the **BSAI Groundfish Plan Team**, and Mr. Ethan Nichols has been appointed to the **BSAI Crab Plan Team**.