Alaska Ocean Leadership AWARDS

Who is your

ICCAN ACCYO!

Nominations open through December 1st

The Alaska Ocean Leadership Awards were established as annual awards to encourage and give recognition to outstanding achievements related to ocean sciences, education and resource management in Alaska.

Alaska Ocean Leadership Awards

To be awarded at the Alaska Marine Gala ~ February 3, 2018

Walter J. & Ermalee Hickel's Lifetime Achievement Award

Stewardship and Sustainability Award

Marine Research Award

Marine Science Outreach Award

Hoffman - Greene Ocean Youth Award



THE ALASKA

For information please contact oceanawards@alaskasealife.org

Walter J. & Ermalee Hickel's Lifetime Achievement Award

\$500 cash prize

Sponsored by: Governor Walter J. and Ermalee Hickel

Awarded to an individual or institution that has made an exceptional contribution to management of Alaska's coastal and ocean resources over a period of 20 or more years.

2010 Recipient: Senator Ted Stevens and Dr. Vera Alexander

- 2011 Recipient: Dr. Clarence Pautzke
- 2012 Recipient: Caleb Pungowiyi
- 2013 Recipient: Clement V. Tillion
- 2014 Recipient: Stan Stephens
- 2015 Recipient: Al Burch
- 2016 Recipient: Captain Ed Page
- 2017 Recipient: Dorothy Childers

Stewardship and Sustainability Award

Sponsored by: Jason Brune

Awarded to an industry initiative that demonstrates the highest commitment to sustainability of ocean resources.

2010 Recipient: The Marine Conservation Alliance

- 2011 Recipient: Shell Alaska Venture
- 2012 Recipient: North Pacific Fishery Management Council
- 2013 Recipient: Holland America Line
- 2014 Recipient: Pollock Conservation Cooperative Research Center
- 2015 Recipient: Alyeska Pipeline's Vessel of Opportunity Program
- 2016 Recipient: SeaShare
- 2017 Recipient: ConocoPhillips

Marine Research Award

\$500 cash prize

Sponsored by: Drs. Clarence Pautzke and Maureen McCrae

Awarded to a scientist, team of scientists or an institution that is acknowledged by peers to have made an original breakthrough contribution or a career spanning achievement in any field of scientific knowledge about Alaska's oceans.

2010 Recipient: Dr. Gordon Kruse
2011 Recipient: Dr. Jeremy Mathis
2012 Recipient: Jan Straley
2013 Recipient: Drs. Katrin Ilken, Brenda Konar, Russ Hopcroft and Bodhil Bluhm
2014 Recipient: Dr. Tom Weingartner

- 2015 Recipient: Drs. Jacqueline Grebmeier and Lee Cooper
- 2016 Recipient: Gunnar Knapp
- 2017 Recipient: Dr. Stanley "Jeep" Rice

Marine Science Outreach Award

(Formerly Ocean Literacy and Ocean Media Awards) \$500 cash prize Sponsored by: Alaska Ocean Observing System

Awarded to a person, team or organization that has made an outstanding contribution to ocean literacy via formal or informal education, media or other communications about Alaska's marine ecosystems.

Ocean Literacy

2010 Recipient: Kenai Fjords Tours Marine Science Explorer Program 2011 Recipient: Elizabeth Trowbridge - CACS 2012 Recipient: Kurt Byers & Sea Grant Staff 2013 Recipient: Bonita Nelson

<u>Ocean Media</u>

2010 Recipient: Elizabeth Arnold

- 2011 Recipient: Marine Conservation Alliance
- 2012 Recipient: Deborah Mercy
- 2013 Recipient: Thomas Litwin and Lawrence Hott

Marine Science Outreach

- 2014 Recipient: Laurie "Poppy" Benson
- 2015 Recipient: Benjamin Carney
- 2016 Recipient: Susan Saupe
- 2017 Recipient: Phyllis Shoemaker

Hoffman-Greene Ocean Youth Award

\$500 cash prize Sponsored by: Dale Hoffman

Awarded to an individual or team of Alaskan youth ages 12-19 who has displayed a dedication to promoting the understanding and stewardship of Alaska's oceans.

- 2013 Recipient: Ahmaogak Sweeney
- 2014 Recipient: Pribilof Student Marine Research Student Team
- 2015 Recipient: Alisa Aist
- 2016 Recipient: Sofia Astaburuaga Larenas
- 2017 Recipient: Cade Emory Terada

- On Occasion -Ocean Ambassador Award

The Ocean Ambassador Award was created to recognize an individual or organization that has made outstanding contributions in promoting public awareness and appreciation of Alaska's oceans, coasts, and marine ecosystems.

2015 Recipient: Ray Troll 2016 Recipient: Arliss Sturgulewski



ALASKA OCEAN LEADERSHIP AWARD NOMINATION

The ninth annual Alaska Ocean Leadership Awards will be presented as a part of the 2018 Alaska Marine Gala. These awards are established as annual awards to encourage and give recognition to outstanding achievements related to ocean sciences, education and management.

Nomination open through December 1st Please indicate which award you are nominating for:

Walter J. & Ermalee Hickel's Lifetime Achievement Award
Stewardship and Sustainability Award
Hoffman-Greene Ocean Youth Award
Marine Research Award
Marine Science Outreach Award

Nominee's Name:

T1 4 1	\mathbf{n}	•	
Title/	()rg	aniza	fion:
I IUIU/	~ ••		

Address:

Phone Number:

Nominee's E-mail:

Why does this person or institution exemplify the characteristics of this award? (Include work history, achievements and character traits as applicable)

Briefly describe the impact the nominee has made on the marine community:

Nominator's Name:	
Address:	
Phone:	
E-mail:	
	nomination form via e-mail to <u>oceanawards@alaskasealife.org</u> , via fax to

(907) 224-6360 or by mail to Alaska SeaLife Center, P.O. Box 1329, Seward, AK 99664. For more information, see our web site at www.alaskasealife.org